Do you know GoPro?

Diddy

愛してるって 言わなきゃ殺す
I’ve been considering buying one recently, I wanted to make a few YouTube videos around Japan, but I need to understand the benefits over, say, my iPhone.

I guess I can film in 4K, but my computer is pretty old, I wonder if it can handle stuff with that

They’re very much an ‘action sports’ brand - I cant imagine watching anything else filmed on a gopro.

I’d say the 12 pro with a decent gimbal based handle would be a better camera for what you’re planning. You can spend a few quid on lens adaptors for iphones now that do some beautiful work.

Ooh thanks!
As a total novice, what’s the cheapest thing that’s any good, which would be good for sightseeingy videos that aren’t too shaky?

I have an Akaso V50 which is a bit of a 'budget GoPro' type thing - it's OKAY, but as Ron says it's only really useful for filming on the go. I actually used it for my video in the first karaoke contest this year, and if you go back and watch that you'll see that all the shots actually have a pretty extreme fisheye on them :D

Though I believe that proper GoPros come with software that lets you do some stuff like fisheye correction etc... you're probably better off with finding a phone with a decent camera and finding a way to use that for your purposes (maybe a HOT STRAP so you're not constantly carrying it around while filming or something?).

Not that I give a shit about that particularly, but if I want to be an award winning YouTuber I should get something appropriate for the age

Apparently anything iPhone 6 and above can shoot in 4K. You need to change it to 4K in the settings.

As Ron said just get a gimble for your iPhone.