Tech questions that don't deserve their own thread

straightorbroken

rebel heart
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
33,494
Location
1997
So I recently bought a physical copy of Dana International's 2007 masterpiece Ha'Kol Ze Le'Tova for the sole purpose of burning the included music videos, but my usual method of burning DVDs does not work due to the CD format. I've tried googling, but to no avail. Any ideas how to burn these cinematic shorts to my hard drive please? Toda in advance.
 

SystemAddict

We're a possibility when you make it hard for me
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Messages
736
If they are videos on CD, they should be in a Windows video format like MPG or MOV. Can you use File Explorer to find them in the CD, copy them to your computer and use your software to make a DVD with the video files?
 

straightorbroken

rebel heart
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
33,494
Location
1997
Always on the pulse, I've now read the replies :D I'll give this a bash tonight.

I have another question though: how do people on youtube make upscaled versions of non-HD files? I've just seen someone do it with one of my favourite films, Gilda (1946), and now want to do it with all my collection basically.
 

Suedey

We Let The Weirdness In
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
63,836
Location
Under Ice
Hi guys
So how can I convert a song on YouTube to MP3 plz? Thanks
 

Ellie

Super talented triple threat
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
51,644
Location
From Despair To Where

ZenGiraffe

Emperor's Chambermaid
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
14,647
Location
San Marino
How come the electricity flows faster in some parts of the country than others?
How do you mean?

The GB Grid is all the same standard, there are minor fluctuations because of supply and demand, and because of transformers etc different geographic areas will have negligible differences.

NI is part of the Irish grid, which has slightly different regulations I think. However, the difference isn't significant, at least for users, as the same plugs and appliances work anywhere in the UK (and the EU as a whole, with adaptors). Whereas the US has more noticeable differences in standards (takes much longer to boil an electric kettle in the US)
 

Nancy

STOP THE CLOCK!
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
8,778
Location
the ASDA in HULME
The electricity where my Mum lives is so much faster than where I live. My phone charges much quicker there.
 

ZenGiraffe

Emperor's Chambermaid
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
14,647
Location
San Marino
So there may be two reasons for this.

You are using a fast charger at your mum's when you don't normally, which is designed to charge the phone faster. The electricity supply itself hasn't changed, just the way it is utilised (some form of electricity transformation in the charger that I don't fully understand).

Difference in the housing wiring. This is less likely, especially if you are plugged straight into the wall, but fast chargers only work when they have the supply they need. If you have dodgy wiring in your flat it may not be at the required voltage to fast charge. More likely, you are using a multi-strip that isn't passing that voltage through for whatever reason (either by fault or by design)
 

ZenGiraffe

Emperor's Chambermaid
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
14,647
Location
San Marino
Your phone should also say if it is fast charging on the lock screen
markup_62823.png
 

Diddy

Rice Queen
Joined
Feb 5, 2004
Messages
63,681
Location
Osaka, Land of Fire
Ok any ideas with this - my internet abruptly cut out while watching Disney plus earlier, and the wifi on my phone cut out too. I tried resetting the router, and Disney came back. I thought maybe it was just being a cunt because I did a surprisingly high speed download yesterday.

I thought that was it, it let me watch a movie on my TV albeit with semi regular breaks to buffer and annoy me.

I turned on my laptop and nothing seems able to get it to connect to the internet - it’s connecting to the router but the router isn’t doing shit.

Thoughts? I was going to hook my laptop up to the LAN cable in my router but realised I’ve changed my laptop last year and there’s no LAN port, so now getting my old laptop out of retirement (it needs a charge) which does
 

Ellie

Super talented triple threat
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
51,644
Location
From Despair To Where
Oh I forgot it was also complaining it couldn’t find the DNS server
This has happened to me a few times. Usually changing the DNS server work:”s. Also properly resetting router rather than turning it off and on again tends to work:


It usually happens when I accidentally leave a VPN on overnight when torrenting a large number of files and the ISP detects something is wrong. I’ve since stopped leaving it on unattended.
 

Nancy

STOP THE CLOCK!
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
8,778
Location
the ASDA in HULME
Where is the setting to accept cookies everywhere I go? I am fed up of answering the same BUGGERY BOLLOCKY question over and over again.
 

Nancy

STOP THE CLOCK!
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
8,778
Location
the ASDA in HULME
My laptop is no more and I need a new one. By new, I mean previously owned. And costing as little as possible.
I don’t need it to do anything fancy. Just type documents and access the internet on. But I haven’t a clue what I’m doing or looking for. Any advice please?
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
8,353
Location
North Persia
Many times a day that creepy robotic voice from my phone gets activated and says "the time is hh:mm post or ante meridiem". I've googled it and switched off the talkback function from accessibility options but it still tells me the time without asking it 🤷‍♂️
 

Nancy

STOP THE CLOCK!
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
8,778
Location
the ASDA in HULME
I keep all my passwords for various sites, email accounts etc on the Notepad on my phone. However, it's just occurred to me that this might be a bit unsafe if anyone got hold of my phone.

Where can I store all my passwords so I don't forget them?
 

Ellie

Super talented triple threat
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
51,644
Location
From Despair To Where
I keep all my passwords for various sites, email accounts etc on the Notepad on my phone. However, it's just occurred to me that this might be a bit unsafe if anyone got hold of my phone.

Where can I store all my passwords so I don't forget them?
Put a password on your notepad files, and/or use Face ID to open.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom