Emma Bunton - Free Me

Love isn't funny...

• Total voters

VoR

Take it or leave it
20 years old this week. Christ.

In retrospect not all of it has aged brilliantly, but Maybe remains a classic, and it was such a refreshingly well executed campaign - until the understandable but ultimately deeply unfortunate choice of the final single. Shame it all went to pot afterwards...

Free Me was good, Maybe entirely overrated and borderline irritating.

The rest I either hated or found dull at the time, but I have little to no recollection of now.

I have no knowledge of anything other than the singles, all of which I dislike to varying degrees.

Free Me was good, Maybe entirely overrated and borderline irritating.

The rest I either hated or found dull at the time, but I have little to no recollection of now.
Yes I have always thought Free Me was the standout (and it has aged the best)

Reactions: D5K
I think she deserves some credit for finding a lane and a concept and committing to it. So many ex girl band members prefer the rule of throwing everything at the wall and seeing what sticks, and end up with messy albums with no direction.

Album isn’t for me but it’s clear the sound suits her. And Free Me is an objectively great song to be fair.

As good as an album by Emma Bunton ever was going to be, and the theme was consistent and stuck to and rather convincing. Shame it all went a bit tits up after the albums release but I think they did the best they could with a solo Spice Girl in 2004.

Eh, the album overall is about a 6 or a 7 on a good day. I guess it's not too shabby for a former girl group member's album.

DenDen community in UPROAR she just posted a short video acknowledging this and not announcing a vinyl pressing of this is sending me. :disco:
None of these women, bar Melanie C, care about their musical past; consider yourselves lucky she spent a few minutes recording herself while lying in bed.